Durham was great, get to Wichita.

10513260_10152305614336317_8812365825940216956_nFriday night at the Carolina Theatre in Durham, Sorcerer and I reconnected in a theater after 37 years and a few weeks. What an experience.

There was a good crowd at the Carolina. Few had seen it, and it was fun to watch their reactions. As the bridge swayed and the trucks bobbed and weaved, several people leaned the other direction to help balance things out. There were gasps in all the places you’d expect them. And for some, the film proved to be a literal nail-biter. Sorcerer continues to play its audience like a violin. Friedkin had them right where he wanted them throughout.

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve seen this film, but it continues to impress. In a theater, larger and louder, I got a feel for John Box’s design of Porvenir, something that had eluded me over the years. On the big screen, it is stunning in its detail. And I was struck not by the brilliance of Tangerine Dream’s score, but by Friedkin’s restraint in how it was used. And I’m always knocked out by the performances.

It was terrific to have this show up on Twitter that afternoon:

Sorcerer screening tweet

The Carolina’s presentation was wonderful. Picture and sound were flawless–The French Connection looked just as good. Thanks to Jim Carl for bringing it to town.

I urge anyone within driving distance to get to Wichita tonight.

sorcerer_hz_web

About Toby

I'm a writer. And a dad. And a husband. And a record collector. And a movie geek (if the movies are old). And I really wish I had a hot rod.
This entry was posted in Festivals, screenings, John Box, Tangerine Dream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

