Sorcerer headed for Wichita.

sorcerer_hz_webLeif Jonker contacted me the other day about a Sorcerer screening in Wichita, Kansas. I want to plug them all, so I asked him to send me some info on it. Turns out, the booking is all his doing. From his email:

Sorcerer being one of my all-time favorite movies, I was going crazy seeing all the showings happening around the country, knowing it wouldn’t come here to Wichita.  I have helped arrange horror festival screenings here the last three Octobers, but the management of the theater I work with had never heard of Sorcerer (like most people I’m meeting) and were skeptical anyone would show up for it.  I finally offered to pay for the screening myself if no one showed, and they agreed to let me roll the dice.”

Warren Oldtown Theatre & Grill
Wichita, KS
July 14 & 15, 7 & 10PM
Admission: $5
www.warrenoldtown.com

If you’re in that part of the country, make it out to one of these showings. It’s worth a road trip. Good work, Leif.

About Toby

I'm a writer. And a dad. And a husband. And a record collector. And a movie geek (if the movies are old). And I really wish I had a hot rod.
This entry was posted in Festivals, screenings. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sorcerer headed for Wichita.

  1. furches says:

    Leif is a legend not just in Wichita but the film world. What a great guy and he has done so much for the film community in Wichita, this is but one of many great examples, so looking forward to this.

    • Toby says:

      A lot of us around here talk about this film, Leif put his money where his mouth is. He gets the “Mile 218” award for sure. He’s a humble guy, too. It took him a while to bring up his effort to make this happen.

      I’d love to have the blog sponsor the Durham showing, but I was thrust into “unintentional self-employment” about a year ago, so it ain’t gonna happen.

  2. PatG says:

    Now there’s a fella with the cajones to cross a rotten bridge driving a 2.5 ton truck in a typhoon. Hoping for the best outcome on yer gamble!

  3. Leif Jonker says:

    Great news: Commenting on a Facebook post I left on his wall, Friedkin just offered to do a Skype Q&A at our first screening like he did at the Forum in NY! Tomorrow I start the scramble to make that happen. (The day of our first show, July 14th, just so happens to be my birthday. How cool is that?)

    Toby, thank you so much for posting about the screening and thank you all (Mike and Pat too) for the supportive words. It’s funny, yesterday I spent several hours driving around town putting up posters for the screenings at various stores, bars and schools. Along the way I talked to anybody who would listen about the screening to the point where I realized I was sounding a bit like a Jehova’s Witness, except of course I was going door to door preaching the gospel of the lost classic. “Excuse me sir, do you have a few minutes to talk about William Friedkin’s SORCERER?” 🙂

    • Toby says:

      Wow, all that’s terrific. Gonna be a special birthday indeed.

      I’ve said many times that I feel like some sort of evangelist for this film. I know exactly what you’re talking about. Keep converting em!

Leave a Reply

