Sorcerer stops at the AFI.

Picture 30

The AFI Silver Theatre in Silver Spring, MD, will run the restored Sorcerer several times beginning April 19. Click on the bridge for details.

About Toby

I'm a writer. And a dad. And a husband. And a record collector. And a movie geek (if the movies are old). And I really wish I had a hot rod.
This entry was posted in Festivals, screenings. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sorcerer stops at the AFI.

  1. PatG says:

    About time they got on board. I will be there.

  2. Josh says:

    This is a wonderful website. Is there any word on a theatrical screening of Sorcerer in the Minneapolis/Saint Paul area? I’ve always dreamed of seeing this film on the big screen.

    • Toby says:

      Thanks for the kind words. Glad you like the site. It’s been fun, especially as the screenings and Blu-ray stuff have been in the works.

      If I see or hear of anything in your area, it’ll surely make it on here. I post everything I find out about.

  3. Andy K says:

    I see there is a screening in Turkey

  4. Ric from NJ says:

    I’m still waiting for a screening in the little town known as New York, New York!

  5. PatG says:

    Definitely worth seeing on the big screen once, per my viewing at AFI this afternoon. I had only seen it once on DVD in the past (made from the VHS master) but did notice what I took to be some tweaks to the music and reverberant effects balances, rain opticals on the bridge sequence and a few “modern” effects during the desert mental breakdown part. If you have not seen it other than on television or original theatrical presentation, you may little notice these. I have to agree with one overheard comment, though: “Two hours? It seemed longer!”. A “stately” pace in comparison to today’s actioneers, with much exposition and process on offer (which are usually phoned-in via 90 second or less music video/episodic television style montage nowadays). For whatever odd reason, this approach reminds me of the novels of Joseph Conrad. Go figure. The bridge sequences did not to my eye have the blue-ish tinge I’ve been seeing in some of the online screengrabs from the BR disk.

  6. Ric from NJ says:

    “Sorcerer” will be at the Film Forum in NY, May 30 thru June 5!!!
    http://www.filmforum.org/movies/more/sorcerer

Leave a Reply

