Interview(s): Don Burgess, film loader.

Don Burgess (Spider-Man, Forrest Gump) was in the Dominican Republic for the Sorcerer shoot.

Don Burgess: “A family friend, Johnny Stephens, was a cinematographer, who traveled around the world. I thought it was a great life. I was fascinated by the mystique of photography. I took thousands of still photos, and ran a black and white lab at home while I was in high school. I enrolled at the Art Center after checking into a lot of other programs. In 1976, after I finished my first year of film school, I took a break and worked as an assistant cameraman on the second unit crew of Sorcerer in the Dominican Republic.”
(Source: The Internet Encyclopedia Of Cinematographers)

Don Burgess: “The first show I worked with Panavision cameras was in 1976 on Sorcerer, with director William Friedkin. We were on location in the Dominican Republic for three months; it was my first feature as a film loader. The original camera crew was British and Johnny Stephens, who I went down there with, ended up taking over the movie, and finished shooting first unit. I was in film school at the time and I had seen Panavision’s logo, but I didn’t know the equipment.”
(From an interview on the Panavision website.)

Dick Bush was fired by Friedkin, and Stephens took over.

About Toby

I'm a writer. And a dad. And a husband. And a record collector. And a movie geek (if the movies are old). And I really wish I had a hot rod.
This entry was posted in Interviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

